The holiday of Passover commemorates the Hebrews escape from slavery in Egypt. Today, to remember this event we avoid all leavened food, because when the Jewish people escaped Egypt they were in a hurry and there really was no time to prepare food. This means any foods containing, yeast, flour and wheat are forbidden. This includes breads, pastas, pizzas, certain grains and many other dishes. The Ashkenazi Jews also do not eat any Kitniyot, which are an extra category of forbidden foods including beans, legumes, rice and corn.